Best of all, you don't need a ton of recipes. Our friend Lisa Books Williams has a mini-recipe booklet with 24 recipes. And our friend Nomi Shannon has several booklets with just 10 recipes each. Both Lisa and Nomi sell these booklets for $7 each.
You don't have to be a nutrition expert or even a good writer. You just compile your recipes and you're an author!
Benefit #1 - Get more signups for your healthy food and raw food classes
You can offer your book as a special bonus to anyone who signs up for your class by an early bird deadline. Or anyone who signs up for a series of three classes. Or anyone who brings a friend.
Because books have big profit margins, they also have a high "perceived value." In other words, a $25 book seems like a lot of added value to a $45 class.
Benefit #2 - Increase your revenue at classes
Suppose six people take your class and pay you $45 each. That's $270 in revenue. Now imagine you have a book to sell, and four students buy it for the discounted price of $15. That's another $60 in revenue, with no additional time or effort on your part. Your hourly wage just increased!
Benefit #3 - Get exposure to many new customers... through affiliates
With your own affiliate program, other people can earn money for promoting your book on their blogs and websites, or recommending it to their email subscribers and social media fans. You can have hundreds of affiliates who are highly motivated to tell the world about your book. Best of all, you don't pay out a dime until after the sales have been made.
Two companies that can help you set up an affiliate program are (www.topwebcart.com) and (www.clickbank.com). Whichever you choose, your affiliate software will automatically calculate the commissions you owe each affiliate.
Benefit #4 - Make money as a guest speaker
People who run Meet-up groups, potluck groups, and other monthly groups like to bring in guest speakers. Being an author boosts your credibility. So you'll be sought after as a guest speaker. After you give a talk - or a recipe demonstration - attendees will want to buy your book.
Meet-up organizers sometimes even charge admission, and they'll give you at least half of the door money (often more). So if 30 people each pay $15 to attend, generating $450 in admission fees, your half would be $225. And if you sold 15 books, you'd collect another $225 in revenue.
Benefit #5 - Plant seeds for future sales
People who buy your book are more likely to buy your more expensive products and programs in the future. Even if they haven't met you in person, they'll come to know you, like you, and trust you. They'll have a relationship with you.
Then when you develop more expensive products and programs in the future, such as a tele-seminar series or coaching program, they'll be much more apt to buy.